Stuart Victoria Blog

A most excellent version of the Stuart Victoria

Three hours in the workshop later…

You can see I’ve fixed the mis-assembly of the steam chest.   The steam inlet height is matched to the height of the governor.

Three hours more in the workshop and I’m now at the stage of fitting the slide valve push rods.   My method is simply to start with the cylinder and work forward,  trial fit a part,  fettle and finally fit.   The rods themselves need quite some work as the raw material has a sprial pattern which light rubbing down won’t sort.    I think I’ll probably put the rods back on the machine and give them a definite fishtail.  The upside is that the material does actually polish up well.

A strange thing,  but the crankshaft which I finished to size on assembly,  is now too long by around 4mm.  Must have grown during the humid summer months!   I need to work out what’s happened BEFORE I shorten it or I may end up needing a new crankshaft.

A lot of work yet to do.

August 29, 2010 Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , | 1 Comment